Friday, December 4, 2009

Red Ribbon Award for Small NGOs/Community Organizations working to address AIDS Epidemic

click here

The Red Ribbon Award 2010 given once in two years provides recognition and honour to community-based organizations/NGOs that have demonstrated exceptional leadership quality in reducing the spread and impact of HIV and AIDS. Named after “red ribbon” sign symbolizing the global movement against AIDS, this award is jointly organized by the UNAIDS family and partners include CIDA, Irish Aid, The Global Fund, Norwegian Government and others. The Award considers the fact that community-based organizations are playing a critical role in addressing the epidemic through sustainable and innovative means and this is an opportunity to highlight these efforts. The categories under which the Award will be given out are:
Ensure that that people living with HIV receive treatment
Support HIV prevention, treatment and care programmes for people who use drugs.
Remove punitive policies and laws, stigma and discrimination that block effective AIDS responses and marginalize key populations (men who have sex with men, transgender people, sex workers and prisoners)
Stop violence against women and girls and promote gender equality
Enhance social support for those affected by HIV, including orphans and vulnerable children

The guidelines also mention that “In line with the global efforts to support cross-sectoral strategies that address HIV as well as other Millennium Development Goals (MDGs), this year a special recognition Award will be presented to an organization whose crosscutting approach jointly addresses AIDS and MDGs at the community level.”

A total number of 25 organizations will be selected initially. They will be invited to the XVIIIth International AIDS Conference in Vienna from 18-23 July, 2010 where these organizations will be able to host their Community Dialogue Space and showcase their work. The award committee will select five organizations for whom an award grant of $15,000 will be offered along with another $5000 to all 25 organizations.

Both nominations and self-nominations are accepted. Applications can be sent by email/mail/online through the website. The last date to submit nomination is 28 February 2010. For more information,
click here
click here
DISCLAIMER, represented through this website, is not affiliated to any of the organizations mentioned above in any manner. The material provided here is solely for informational purposes only without any warranty. Blog visitors are advised to use it at their own discretion.

No comments: